Skip to main content
Energy Review
Supplier comparison

Sainsbury’s Energy vs Scottish Power (September 2026)

Overview

Our verdict
Too close to call

There is no single best choice: compare price, service, app and green-energy evidence separately.

Trustpilot
Sainsbury’s Energy
4.3
3,139 reviews
Scottish Power
4.4
203,838 reviews
Citizens Advice rank
Sainsbury’s Energy
N/A
Scottish Power
#10
Cheapest variable
Sainsbury’s Energy
£1,611
/year
Scottish Power
£1,611
/year
iOS app
Sainsbury’s Energy
N/A
Scottish Power
4.8

About Sainsbury's Energy and Scottish Power

Who is Sainsbury's Energy?

Sainsbury's Energy is a partnership between the supermarket brand and E.ON Next. It is not an energy supplier itself; E.ON Next holds the licence and supplies the gas and electricity. This means customers get their energy and customer service from one of the UK's largest suppliers, while the Sainsbury's brand gives the tariff names and rewards. The supplier keeps its tariff range simple, focusing on standard and fixed deals, and offers discounts on home energy upgrades like solar panels and electric vehicle chargers.

Products & services

Standard variable tariffs
flexible deals that track the price cap
Fixed tariffs
deals that lock in prices for 12 or 24 months
Nectar rewards
bonus points on energy bills and grocery shopping
Home energy upgrades
discounts on solar panels, batteries, and EV chargers

Awards & recognition

✓Which? Recommended Provider for Energy Companies — 2026 (Which?)

Who is Scottish Power?

Scottish Power was formed in 1990 and is now owned by the Spanish energy group Iberdrola. It is one of the UK's largest domestic energy suppliers, providing gas and electricity to homes across the country. It also runs the local electricity network in parts of Scotland, Wales, and England. A key feature of Scottish Power is its long-running partnership with Cancer Research UK, raising millions of pounds through specific charity tariffs. It also runs a rewards club and sells home products like boiler care, solar panels, and electric vehicle chargers.

Products & services

Standard variable tariffs
flexible deals with no end date
Fixed tariffs
deals that lock in prices for 12 months
Charity tariffs
deals that include a donation to Cancer Research UK
Specialist tariffs
options for heat pump and electric vehicle owners
Home products
boiler care, solar panels, and EV chargers

Awards & recognition

✓Best Overall Improvement — 2024 (Uswitch Energy Awards)
✓UK Digital Experience Award — 2026 (UK Digital Experience Awards)
✓Customer Experience Award — 2024 (UK and European Customer Experience Awards)
Affiliate
Thinking about switching to Octopus?

Use our referral link, and we'll both get £50 credit once your switch is complete.

Existing customer? Find out how you can benefit too. T&Cs apply (only one switching offer per household)

Tariffs and pricing

Sainsbury’s Energy
VARIABLE
Sainsbury's Standard Variable
£1,611/year
No fixed term · Variable rates can change
Best for: maximum flexibility
FIXED 24M
Sainsburys Fix and Reward Fixed 24m v51
£1,640/year
24-month term · Exit fee £200
Best for: price certainty
Scottish Power
VARIABLE
Standard
£1,611/year
No fixed term · Variable rates can change
Best for: maximum flexibility
FIXED 12M
Exclusive Help Beat Cancer Fixed Sep 2027 SM2
£1,830/year
12-month term
Best for: price certainty

Both suppliers offer standard variable tariffs as their cheapest overall options. Sainsbury's Energy's Sainsbury's Standard Variable tariff and Scottish Power's Standard tariff both cost £1,611 a year. These prices are identical under our assumptions, and both are variable with no fixed term or exit fees.

For households looking to lock in their unit rates, Sainsbury's Energy offers the cheaper fixed deal. Its lowest-priced fixed tariff costs £1,640 a year on a 24-month contract, which is £190 less than Scottish Power's 12-month fixed option at £1,830 a year.

Customers should note that leaving the Sainsbury's Energy fixed deal early incurs a £200 total exit fee. In contrast, Scottish Power's cheapest fixed tariff does not charge an exit fee.

Sainsbury’s Energy vs Scottish Power — Tariffs and pricing
MetricSainsbury’s EnergyScottish Power
Cheapest tariff exit fee£0£0
Cheapest fixed tariff exit fee£200£0

Sainsbury's Energy and Scottish Power: Tariff Options

Sainsbury's Energy

Sainsbury's Energy offers a simple range of standard variable and fixed tariffs. Its fixed deals last for 12 or 24 months. The supplier focuses on rewarding customers with Nectar points.

Sainsbury's Standard Variable
Variable rates can change
Best forhouseholds that want flexibility and do not want to be tied into a contract
Sainsburys Track & Reward 12m v1
Variable rates can change
Best forNectar card holders who want rewards on a 12-month variable tariff
Sainsburys Fix and Reward Fixed 24m v51
24-month fixed tariff that locks in prices and offers bonus Nectar points
Best forpeople who want long-term price certainty and collect Nectar points
Sainsbury's Energy Fix and Save 24m v3
24-month fixed tariff that keeps prices the same and offers extra Nectar points on shopping
Best forregular Sainsbury's shoppers who want to protect themselves from price rises

Scottish Power

Scottish Power offers standard variable and fixed tariffs, with fixed terms lasting 12 months. It also provides specialist options for homes with heat pumps or electric vehicles, as well as tariffs that support charity.

Standard
Variable rates can change
Best forcustomers who want the freedom to switch at any time
Exclusive Help Beat Cancer Fixed Sep 2027 SM2
12-month fixed tariff that requires a smart meter and includes a charity donation
Best forhouseholds with a smart meter who want price certainty and wish to support a charity
Help Beat Cancer Fixed Sep 2027 TM2
12-month fixed tariff for traditional meters that includes a charity donation
Best forpeople without a smart meter who want to fix their costs and give to charity
Heat Pump Saver
specialist tariff offering a cheaper electricity rate in the middle of the day
Best forheat pump owners who can shift their energy use
EV Optimise
specialist add-on that gives a cheaper rate for charging an electric car
Best forEV drivers who want lower charging costs without changing their main household tariff

Customer reviews

★Trustpilot
Sainsbury’s Energy4.3 / 5
Scottish Power4.4 / 5
⚖Citizens Advice
Sainsbury’s EnergyN/A
Scottish Power#10
✓Which?
Sainsbury’s Energy71 %
Scottish Power56 %

Scottish Power holds a slightly higher overall Trustpilot score of 4.4 out of 5 from over 203,000 reviews, compared to Sainsbury's Energy's 4.3 out of 5 from 3,139 reviews. However, 80% of Sainsbury's Energy reviews are five-star, whereas Scottish Power receives 60% five-star ratings and 19% one-star ratings.

Feedback for Sainsbury's Energy frequently highlights helpful staff and prompt online communication, though some users mention minor billing errors. Scottish Power customers also note polite staff and a straightforward online experience, but some report unexpected costs and slow response times.

In the annual Which? survey, Sainsbury's Energy performs better with an overall score of 71 out of 100, compared to Scottish Power's 56. Sainsbury's Energy scores 4 out of 5 for customer service, 8 out of 15 for complaints handling, and 8 out of 10 for smart meters. Scottish Power receives 2 out of 5, 4 out of 15, and 4 out of 10 across the same respective categories.

App quality and features

App Store
Sainsbury’s EnergyN/A
Scottish Power4.8 · 87,000 ratings
Google Play
Sainsbury’s EnergyN/A
Scottish Power4.7 · 96,905 ratings

Scottish Power provides a mobile app for account management, whereas app ratings for Sainsbury's Energy are not currently available in our dataset.

The Scottish Power app scores 4.8 out of 5 on the App Store from 87,000 ratings, and 4.7 out of 5 on the Google Play Store from nearly 97,000 ratings. The Android version has over a million installs and has been updated recently.

Recent release notes for the Scottish Power app indicate that Direct Debit customers can now view a detailed monthly breakdown of their energy usage. However, a sample of recent iOS reviews highlights some customer frustration regarding smart meter data displays and unexpected billing charges.

Service and support

Citizens Advice rank
Sainsbury’s Energy
N/A
Scottish Power
#10
Citizens Advice score
Sainsbury’s Energy
N/A
out of 5
Scottish Power
2.94
out of 5
Emails ≤2 days
Sainsbury’s Energy
N/A
Scottish Power
94%
Avg call wait
Sainsbury’s Energy
N/A
Scottish Power
1.3 min
ChannelSainsbury’s EnergyScottish Power
Phone
Not reported

Average wait: 1.3 min

Hours: Weekdays 9am–5pm, closed Saturday, closed Sunday

Email
Not reported

Replies: 94% within 2 days

Hours: 24/7

Social media
Not reported

Average response: ~2 min

Hours: Business hrs

Scottish Power receives a Citizens Advice score of 2.94 out of 5, placing it 10th in the rankings. Equivalent data from Citizens Advice is not currently available for Sainsbury's Energy.

Scottish Power customers wait an average of 1 minute 16 seconds to speak to a call centre agent. The supplier responds to 94.3% of emails within two days and takes about 2 minutes 25 seconds on average to reply on social media.

Scottish Power accepts Direct Debit, cash, cheque, and prepayment methods, with phone lines open on weekdays from 9am to 5pm. It also has formal vulnerability commitments registered with Citizens Advice.

Sainsbury’s Energy vs Scottish Power — Service and support
MetricSainsbury’s EnergyScottish Power
Average social media response timeN/A2 minutes 25 seconds
SourcesChecked 1st September 2026
  1. Citizens Advice (Scottish Power)

Complaints and performance

Per 100k customers
Sainsbury’s Energy
906
Q2 2026
Scottish Power
1,458
Q4 2025
CA per 10k
Sainsbury’s Energy
N/A
Citizens Advice
Scottish Power
61.8
Citizens Advice
Resolved same/next day
Sainsbury’s Energy
59%
Scottish Power
60%
Resolved ≤8 weeks
Sainsbury’s Energy
92%
Scottish Power
86%

Complaint figures are shown with each supplier’s reporting period. No winner is declared when periods differ or one figure is missing.

Sainsbury’s Energy — complaint themes
Customer service
35.86%
Reported complaint category for Q2 2026.
Billing and meter reading issues - unrelated with meter type
16.11%
Reported complaint category for Q2 2026.
Payment issues
13.9%
Reported complaint category for Q2 2026.
Debt and debt-related disconnections - non-prepayment related
7.42%
Reported complaint category for Q2 2026.
Billing and meter reading issues - smart/advanced meter related
6%
Reported complaint category for Q2 2026.
Scottish Power — complaint themes
Billing
32%
Reported complaint category for Q4 2025.
Payment Issues
27%
Reported complaint category for Q4 2025.
Metering
15%
Reported complaint category for Q4 2025.
Customer Services
11%
Reported complaint category for Q4 2025.
Marketing
5%
Reported complaint category for Q4 2025.

Green Energy Comparison

Sainsbury’s Energy
Dated fuel mix unavailable
Scottish Power
7%Renewable
✓ January to March 2026
Renewable7%
Nuclear4%
Fossil fuel84%
Other5%

Sainsbury's Energy

All Sainsbury's Energy tariffs offer 100% renewable electricity. The supplier matches the electricity its customers use by buying Renewable Energy Guarantee of Origin (REGO) certificates. This shows that a matching amount of electricity was generated from renewable sources, rather than the supplier generating the power itself. It does not currently offer carbon offsetting for gas as a standard feature. It also helps customers make their homes greener by offering discounts on solar panels, batteries, and electric vehicle chargers through its partner E.ON Next.

Scottish Power

Scottish Power's parent company builds and runs wind farms, but the electricity Scottish Power supplies to its domestic customers is largely fossil fuels, with some renewable, nuclear, and other sources. It does offer specific green tariffs that match electricity use with renewable generation. The supplier also invests in green energy projects across the UK and offers discounts to customers who buy solar panels and battery systems.

Our verdict

Which should you choose?
If you care most aboutChoose
The lowest annual cost on our assumptionsEither
Our verdict
Too close to call

There is no single best choice: compare price, service, app and green-energy evidence separately.

Use the decision table to match the available evidence to the factors that matter most to your household.

Sainsbury’s Energy
✓Pros
  • —
×Cons
  • —
Scottish Power
✓Pros
  • —
×Cons
  • —

Frequently asked questions

Which is cheaper, Sainsbury’s Energy or Scottish Power?

On the stored annual-cost assumptions, Sainsbury’s Energy is £1,611 and Scottish Power is £1,611. The difference is within £5 a year, so it is treated as a tie.

Can Sainsbury’s Energy and Scottish Power complaint rates be compared directly?

No direct complaint-rate winner is declared because Sainsbury’s Energy and Scottish Power do not both have figures for the same stated reporting period.

Which supplier leads on customer service?

The supplied data does not support a like-for-like customer-service winner.

Which supplier has the better app evidence?

The supplied data does not support a like-for-like app winner.

Do tariff eligibility rules matter?

Yes. Specialist, time-of-use, EV, heat-pump and export tariffs can have equipment, meter or account requirements. Check the current supplier terms before applying.

Which supplier has the greener evidence?

The supplied data does not support a like-for-like green-energy winner. This row is based on published fuel-mix percentages.

Which is better overall, Sainsbury’s Energy or Scottish Power?

There is no single overall winner in this repaired draft. Price, service, app and green-energy evidence are kept as separate choices in the decision table.

When was this comparison updated?

The structured source payload is for September 2026.

What changed this month

This month, Scottish Power's iOS sampled positive reviews rose from 1 to 3, Scottish Power's iOS sampled reviews avg stars rose from 2.33 to 6, and Scottish Power's iOS sampled negative reviews fell from 2 to 0. There were 14 other data changes this month — see the full changelog below for details.

Data changes this month (22)

Related comparisons

Related reviews

Related guides

Rob Gibbs

Written by

Rob Gibbs

Hi, I'm Rob, and I run Energy-Review.co.uk. I initially started this project in 2018 when I was looking to switch energy suppliers and found there wasn't a website that provided simple, data-backed reviews on all the suppliers available. Since then, I have spent a lot of time (too much, some may say!) looking at all publicly available data about each supplier and writing reviews using this information. These reviews are updated as regularly as possible, and any data is backed up by a source where necessary. I have also started writing guides on various energy-related topics, which hopefully you will find useful. If you find any issues, please use our contact form to let us know.

Comments

Leave a comment

We publish your name and comment. Your email is never published and is used only if we need to reply. We also store a one-way hashed form of your IP address to detect spam. See our privacy policy.