Skip to main content
Energy Review
Supplier comparison

Fuse Energy vs Scottish Power (September 2026)

Overview

Our verdict
★ Winner: Fuse Energy

Fuse Energy wins by offering significantly cheaper fixed tariffs and higher customer satisfaction, though Scottish Power provides more regulatory data.

Key takeaways

Fuse Energy leads this comparison due to its lower-priced fixed tariffs and higher Trustpilot scores. Scottish Power offers a longer track record and full independent regulatory data, though its fixed deals are currently more expensive.

•Fuse Energy costs £122 a year less on its cheapest available tariff
•Fuse Energy holds a 4.8 out of 5 Trustpilot score, compared to 4.4 for Scottish Power
•Both suppliers provide standard variable tariffs at effectively identical price points
Trustpilot
Fuse Energy
4.8
10,754 reviews
Scottish Power
4.4
203,838 reviews
Citizens Advice rank
Fuse Energy
N/A
Scottish Power
#10
Cheapest variable
Fuse Energy
£1,611
/year
Scottish Power
£1,611
/year
iOS app
Fuse Energy
4.8
Scottish Power
4.8

About Fuse Energy and Scottish Power

Who is Fuse Energy?

Fuse Energy is a newer energy supplier set up in 2022 by former staff from the banking app Revolut. It is a smaller challenger brand that runs a vertically integrated model, meaning it owns renewable generation sites, trades on the wholesale market, and supplies homes directly. It aims to grow by offering an app-based, digital experience rather than using traditional call centres.

Products & services

App-based account management
customers manage energy through a smartphone app with no paper bills
Variable direct debits
monthly payments change based on actual energy use
Smart home integration
links with electric vehicle chargers and offers half-hourly billing updates
Plugs AI assistant
an artificial intelligence tool to help answer customer questions

Awards & recognition

✓Digital Innovation of the Year — 2024 Energy Awards

Who is Scottish Power?

Formed in 1990, Scottish Power is one of the UK's oldest and largest domestic energy suppliers. It became part of the Spanish energy group Iberdrola in 2007. As well as supplying millions of homes, it runs the local electricity network in parts of Scotland, Wales, and England.

Products & services

Charity tariffs
a long-running partnership raising money for Cancer Research UK
Home energy products
offers boiler cover, solar panels, and electric vehicle chargers
Power Saver scheme
gives smart meter customers hours of discounted electricity each week
Rewards club
lets customers earn points to save on their bills

Awards & recognition

✓Silver Stevie Award for Best Use of Technology in Customer Service — 2025 Stevie Awards
✓UK Digital Experience Award — 2026 UK Digital Experience Awards
✓Plain Numbers approval — 2026 Plain Numbers
Affiliate
Thinking about switching to Octopus?

Use our referral link, and we'll both get £50 credit once your switch is complete.

Existing customer? Find out how you can benefit too. T&Cs apply (only one switching offer per household)

Tariffs and pricing

Fuse Energy
VARIABLE
Variable Import
£1,611/year
No fixed term · Variable rates can change
Best for: maximum flexibility
CHEAPEST
FIXED 18M
August 2026 Fixed (18m) V15
£1,489/year
18-month term · Exit fee £100
Best for: price certainty
Scottish Power
VARIABLE
Standard
£1,611/year
No fixed term · Variable rates can change
Best for: maximum flexibility
FIXED 12M
Exclusive Help Beat Cancer Fixed Sep 2027 SM2
£1,830/year
12-month term
Best for: price certainty

The lowest-priced tariff identified for Fuse Energy is the August 2026 Fixed (18m) V15 deal, costing £1,489 a year. This comes in £122 a year below Scottish Power's cheapest option, the Standard variable tariff, which is priced at £1,611 a year.

Looking strictly at fixed contracts, Fuse Energy costs £341 a year less than Scottish Power. Its most affordable fixed option runs for 18 months and includes a £100 exit fee. In contrast, Scottish Power's lowest-priced fixed tariff is £1,830 a year for a 12-month term, with no exit fee applied.

Households preferring a contract with no fixed term can choose standard variable deals from either provider. These are effectively identical in price under our assumptions: Fuse Energy's Variable Import and Scottish Power's Standard both cost £1,611 a year. Neither supplier charges an exit fee for leaving these variable tariffs.

Fuse Energy vs Scottish Power — Tariffs and pricing
MetricFuse EnergyScottish Power
Cheapest tariff exit fee£100£0
Cheapest fixed tariff exit fee£100£0

Tariff Options

Fuse Energy tariffs

Fuse Energy offers a simple range of tariffs, including standard variable and fixed options to suit different household needs. It also has specialist tariffs for customers with smart meters, electric vehicles, or solar panels.

Variable Import
Variable rates can change
Best forhouseholds that want flexibility and no exit fees
September 2026 Fixed (12m) V1
12-month fixed tariff
Best forcustomers who want to lock in their energy rates for a year
August 2026 Fixed (13m) V21
13-month fixed tariff
Best forcustomers wanting price certainty for just over a year
August 2026 Fixed (18m) V15
18-month fixed tariff
Best forhouseholds looking to fix costs for a year and a half
August 2026 Fixed (24m) V1
24-month fixed tariff
Best forcustomers who want long-term protection against price rises
Off-peak variable tariff
specialist time-of-use tariff offering a seven-hour cheaper window overnight
Best forelectric vehicle drivers or people who can shift their energy use to the night
Export
specialist tariff that pays customers for sending power back to the grid
Best forhomes with solar panels and batteries

Scottish Power tariffs

Scottish Power provides standard variable and fixed-rate deals, including options that support charity. It also offers a range of specialist tariffs for electric vehicle drivers, customers wanting green energy, and those looking to track wholesale market prices.

Standard
standard variable tariff where prices can go up or down based on the market
Best forpeople who want the freedom to switch at any time
Help Beat Cancer Fixed Sep 2027 TM2
12-month fixed tariff that includes a donation to charity
Best forcustomers who want price certainty for a year and want to support Cancer Research UK
Exclusive Help Beat Cancer Fixed Sep 2027 SM2
12-month fixed tariff that supports charity and needs a smart meter
Best forhouseholds with a smart meter looking for a one-year fixed rate and a way to give to charity
Cap Tracker
specialist tracker tariff that follows market prices below the price cap
Best forcustomers who want to follow market prices but pay less each day
Green Fixed
specialist 12-month fixed tariff that gives 100% green electricity and includes boiler insurance
Best forpeople who want renewable power and extra home cover
EV Saver Tariff
specialist time-of-use tariff offering cheaper electricity for five hours overnight
Best forEV drivers who can charge their cars during the off-peak window
EV Optimise
specialist add-on tariff giving a discounted charging rate
Best forelectric car owners who charge at home

Customer reviews

★Trustpilot
Fuse Energy4.8 / 5
Scottish Power4.4 / 5
⚖Citizens Advice
Fuse EnergyN/A
Scottish Power#10
✓Which?
Fuse EnergyN/A %
Scottish Power56 %

On Trustpilot, Fuse Energy holds a score of 4.8 out of 5 across more than 10,700 reviews. Scottish Power maintains a 4.4 out of 5 rating, drawn from a significantly larger volume of over 203,000 reviews.

Feedback for Fuse Energy is largely positive, with 92% of reviewers awarding five stars. Customers frequently mention prompt support responses and straightforward switching processes. Meanwhile, 60% of Scottish Power reviews are five-star and 19% are one-star. Some Scottish Power users note polite staff and functional online systems, whereas others report issues with billing clarity, unexpected costs, and delayed responses.

In independent testing, Scottish Power receives an overall customer satisfaction score of 56 from Which?, alongside a 2 out of 5 rating for overall customer service. As a newer entrant to the market, Fuse Energy does not yet feature in the Which? rankings.

App ratings and features

App Store
Fuse Energy4.8 · 717 ratings
Scottish Power4.8 · 87,000 ratings
Google Play
Fuse Energy4.7 · 821 ratings
Scottish Power4.7 · 96,905 ratings

Both providers maintain apps that score 4.8 out of 5 on the App Store. Scottish Power draws from a much larger user base, recording 87,000 iOS ratings compared to approximately 700 for Fuse Energy. Recent updates indicate both applications are actively maintained.

Google Play data shows Scottish Power scoring 4.7 out of 5 across more than 96,000 ratings, while Fuse Energy achieves a 4.6 from roughly 800 ratings. Both companies record over 100,000 app installs, with Scottish Power's total exceeding one million.

Recent iOS feedback for Fuse Energy points to fast chat support, although one user suggested that broader company service could be improved. For Scottish Power, recent release notes highlight a new monthly breakdown feature designed to help Direct Debit customers track their energy usage.

Fuse Energy vs Scottish Power — App ratings and features
MetricFuse EnergyScottish Power
Google Play rating4.6 / 54.7 / 5

Service and support

Citizens Advice rank
Fuse Energy
N/A
Scottish Power
#10
Citizens Advice score
Fuse Energy
N/A
out of 5
Scottish Power
2.94
out of 5
Emails ≤2 days
Fuse Energy
N/A
Scottish Power
94%
Avg call wait
Fuse Energy
N/A
Scottish Power
1.3 min
ChannelFuse EnergyScottish Power
Phone
Not reported

Average wait: 1.3 min

Hours: Weekdays 9am–5pm, closed Saturday, closed Sunday

Email
Not reported

Replies: 94% within 2 days

Hours: 24/7

Social media
Not reported

Average response: ~2 min

Hours: Business hrs

Scottish Power ranks 10th in the Citizens Advice table, achieving an overall score of 2.94 out of 5 based on a full set of independent customer service data. Fuse Energy is not currently included in these rankings.

Citizens Advice data indicates that Scottish Power's average call centre wait time is 1 minute 16 seconds, with social media responses taking an average of 2 minutes 25 seconds. The supplier responds to 94.3% of emails within two days and maintains formal vulnerability commitments.

Payment methods accepted by Scottish Power include Direct Debit, Cash/Cheque, and Prepayment. Its customer service phone lines operate on weekdays between 9am and 5pm.

Fuse Energy vs Scottish Power — Service and support
MetricFuse EnergyScottish Power
Average social media response timeN/A2 minutes 25 seconds
SourcesChecked 1st September 2026
  1. Citizens Advice (Scottish Power)

Complaints and performance

Per 100k customers
Fuse Energy
N/A
Scottish Power
1,458
Q4 2025
CA per 10k
Fuse Energy
N/A
Citizens Advice
Scottish Power
61.8
Citizens Advice
Resolved same/next day
Fuse Energy
N/A
Scottish Power
60%
Resolved ≤8 weeks
Fuse Energy
N/A
Scottish Power
86%

We do not have complaints data for Fuse Energy. Because of this, we can only look at the figures for Scottish Power.

In the fourth quarter of 2025 (Q4 2025), Scottish Power received 1,458 complaints for every 100,000 customers. The supplier solved 60% of these complaints by the end of the next working day. It solved 86% of complaints within eight weeks.

The most common reason people complained to Scottish Power was about billing, making up 32% of cases. Payment issues caused 27% of complaints, and metering problems accounted for 15%. Customer services (11%) and marketing (5%) rounded out the top five reasons for complaints.

SourcesChecked 1st September 2026
  1. Supplier performance page (Scottish Power)

Green Energy Comparison

Fuse Energy
Dated fuel mix unavailable
Scottish Power
7%Renewable
✓ January to March 2026
Renewable7%
Nuclear4%
Fossil fuel84%
Other5%

Fuse Energy

Fuse Energy invests in its own renewable energy projects, including solar farms in England and a wind farm in Scotland. It does not buy Renewable Energy Guarantees of Origin certificates to claim a 100% renewable mix, as it calls this practice misleading. Instead, it sells its certificates to fund new projects. This means the electricity it supplies to customers reflects the standard grid mix alongside its own generation. It does not currently offer a specific green tariff in its mainstream range.[1]

Scottish Power

Scottish Power's parent company builds renewable energy sites, and the supplier generates its own renewable electricity through UK wind farms. It offers specific green tariffs backed by 100% green electricity from these sites. However, the overall mix of electricity it supplies to its domestic customers is largely fossil fuels, with some renewable and nuclear energy.

Our verdict

Which should you choose?
If you care most aboutChoose
The lowest annual cost on our assumptionsFuse Energy
A well-rated mobile appEither
Our verdict
★ Winner: Fuse Energy

Fuse Energy is the stronger option on the available tariff pricing and Trustpilot data, while Scottish Power has more independent regulatory data.

Based on the available pricing and review data, Fuse Energy leads this comparison. It provides a notably cheaper fixed tariff and secures higher customer satisfaction scores on Trustpilot. The digital experience is also highly rated, which may suit households preferring to manage their energy via an app.

As a newer market entrant, Fuse Energy lacks the independent regulatory track record provided by Citizens Advice and Which?. Households that prioritise an established supplier with formal vulnerability commitments and broader payment options may find Scottish Power more suitable, provided they are comfortable with higher fixed tariff costs.

Fuse EnergyWinner
✓Pros
  • Lower prices on fixed and overall tariffs
  • 4.8 out of 5 Trustpilot rating
×Cons
  • Lacks Citizens Advice and Which? data
  • £100 exit fee applies to its cheapest tariff
Scottish Power
✓Pros
  • Established provider with full regulatory data
  • Zero exit fees on its cheapest standard variable deal
×Cons
  • Fixed tariffs cost notably more
  • Higher proportion of one-star Trustpilot reviews

Frequently asked questions

Which supplier is better overall?

Fuse Energy may be the better fit on the available pricing and Trustpilot data, as it offers a much cheaper fixed tariff and scores higher on Trustpilot. Scottish Power, however, provides independent regulatory data that Fuse Energy currently lacks.

Who offers the cheaper energy tariff?

Fuse Energy offers the cheaper overall deal. Its cheapest fixed tariff costs £1,489 a year, which is £122 a year cheaper than Scottish Power's cheapest option. Both suppliers offer standard variable tariffs that cost the same.

Which supplier has better customer reviews?

Fuse Energy scores higher on Trustpilot with 4.8 out of 5, compared to 4.4 out of 5 for Scottish Power. Fuse Energy sees 92% of its reviewers giving five stars, while Scottish Power receives 60% five-star reviews.

Are the Fuse Energy and Scottish Power apps any good?

Yes, both suppliers offer highly rated apps. They each score 4.8 out of 5 on the App Store, while Scottish Power slightly leads on Google Play with a 4.7 rating compared to 4.6 for Fuse Energy.

How quickly does Scottish Power answer the phone?

Scottish Power has an average call centre wait time of 1 minute 16 seconds, according to Citizens Advice. We do not currently have call wait time data for Fuse Energy.

Should I choose Fuse Energy or Scottish Power?

If price and online customer reviews are your main concerns, Fuse Energy is the better choice. If you prefer a more established supplier that provides full Citizens Advice data and supports more payment methods, Scottish Power is a reliable option.

Do Fuse Energy or Scottish Power charge exit fees?

Fuse Energy charges a £100 exit fee on its cheapest fixed deal, but its standard variable tariff has no exit fee. Scottish Power does not charge an exit fee on its cheapest overall deal, which is a standard variable tariff, but some of its fixed deals do carry fees.

Which supplier offers more payment options?

Scottish Power accepts Direct Debit, Cash/Cheque, and Prepayment. Fuse Energy operates a digital, app-based model focused on variable direct debits.

Does Fuse Energy offer a standard variable tariff?

Yes, both suppliers offer a standard variable tariff with no fixed term. These deals track market prices and are effectively identical in cost under our assumptions.

What changed this month

This month, Fuse Energy's play store negative ratings % rose from 1.7 to 6.4, Fuse Energy's Trustpilot 3-star % rose from 1 to 3, and Fuse Energy's Trustpilot neutral reviews % rose from 1 to 3. There were 31 other data changes this month — see the full changelog below for details.

Data changes this month (41)

Related comparisons

Related reviews

Related guides

Rob Gibbs

Written by

Rob Gibbs

Hi, I'm Rob, and I run Energy-Review.co.uk. I initially started this project in 2018 when I was looking to switch energy suppliers and found there wasn't a website that provided simple, data-backed reviews on all the suppliers available. Since then, I have spent a lot of time (too much, some may say!) looking at all publicly available data about each supplier and writing reviews using this information. These reviews are updated as regularly as possible, and any data is backed up by a source where necessary. I have also started writing guides on various energy-related topics, which hopefully you will find useful. If you find any issues, please use our contact form to let us know.

Comments

Leave a comment

We publish your name and comment. Your email is never published and is used only if we need to reply. We also store a one-way hashed form of your IP address to detect spam. See our privacy policy.